Thread: Help with coil splitting on a SG!!

Post Thanks / Like

Question Help with coil splitting on a SG!!

I'm kinda new to all this and need a little help with all this. right now i have a g-400 i bought in feb i have seymour duncan 59 for the neck and a custom 5 for the bridge. Im wanting to split the coil on both with push pull pots. I've been looking for cts pots but i've only found a few places that have the push pull pot i'm guess ive been looking in the wrong places. that being said so far for the rest of the set up im not sure which is better for the push pull the tone or volume. I was going to use linear one the vol and audio on tone alone with a pair of orange drop .01uf 600v caps. I've never done this before so any help would be great. I'm guessing the sg takes the short pots but im going to have to measure the stock one to be sure. thanks in advance for any help.

W. Branch of Susquehanna River, Pennsylvania
    Post Thanks / Like

First of all, check your pickups. Do they have at least 4 wires coming out of each pickup? You need to have at least 4 wires from each pickup to split the pickups. If you have both pickups with at least 4 wires you can split both pickups. If only one pickup has 4 wires you can split only one pickup. The Seymour Duncan website has wiring diagrams on it for splitting pickups that may or may not be easy for you to follow.