Thread: Extending Vocal Range Effectively & Safely???

Post Thanks / Like

Default Extending Vocal Range Effectively & Safely???

I've been singing for over twenty-five years but....I'd like to extend my vocal range. Right now, I can hit a fairly high "A" full-voiced but....I'd like to do better.

Any suggestions?

Post Thanks / Like

I took some lessons recently and it seems like it's just a matter of using good technique and singing more, honestly. My range started to increase as I sang more, but I had pretty bad technique and couldn't get a very resonant tone until I started with the lessons. You might want to consider a couple of weeks of lessons -- there's a lot you can learn pretty quickly.

Good luck with it though!
    Quote Originally Posted by Spudman
    Does anyone read the original post?
    Guitars: Gibson LP Studio, MIA Fender Precision, Carvin C350
    Amps: Genz Benz Shuttle 6.0 + Avatar B212 / Genzler 12-3, Acoustic B20
    Pedals: Pod HD500X, Diamond Compressor, Tech 21 VT Bass, Sonic Research Turbo Tuner

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Eric View Post
    I took some lessons recently and it seems like it's just a matter of using good technique and singing more, honestly. My range started to increase as I sang more, but I had pretty bad technique and couldn't get a very resonant tone until I started with the lessons. You might want to consider a couple of weeks of lessons -- there's a lot you can learn pretty quickly.

Good luck with it though!

Thanks. Singing is a natural for me (I'm not boasting, by the way) but....I guess some lessons wouldn't hurt. Thanks, friend!

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

You can't really stretch your natural range, but you can learn a completely different technique to do it. Trouble is, usually one cannot retain two different styles of singing intact for a long period of time.